Term & Holiday Dates 2018 

START DATE END DATE  HOLIDAYS
Term 1 – 11 weeks Between Monday 29 January
(at the earliest);
and Wednesday 7 February (at the latest)
Friday 13 April
(90 -102 half days)
Public holidays: Waitangi Day 6 February,

Easter: Good Friday 30 March, Easter Monday 2 April
and Easter Tuesday 3 April (a school holiday)

School holiday: Saturday 14 April – Sunday 29 April (includes ANZAC day 25 April).

Term 2 – 10 weeks Monday 30 April Friday 6 July
(98 half days)
Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 4 June

School holiday: Saturday 7 July – Sunday 22 July

Term 3 – 10 weeks Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
(100 half days)
School holidays: Saturday 29 September – Sunday 14 October
Term 4 – up to 10 weeks Monday 15 October Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Thursday 20 December
(96 half days)*

Secondary and composite:
No later than Tuesday 18 December
(92 half days)**

Public holidays: Labour Day 22 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

 

Term & Holiday Dates 2017 

START DATE END DATE WEEKS HOLIDAYS
Term 1 Between Monday 30 January (earliest);
and Tuesday 7 February (latest)
Thursday 13 April 10 Public holiday: Waitangi Day Monday 6 February

School holidays: Friday 14 April – Sunday 30 April. Includes Easter Friday, Easter Monday, and Easter Tuesday (an official school holiday). Also includes ANZAC day

Term 2 Monday 1 May Friday 7 July 10 Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday Monday 5 June

School holidays: Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July

Term 3 Monday 24 July Friday 29 September 10 School holidays: Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
Term 4 Monday 16 October Primary and intermediate:
No later than Wednesday 20 December
(94 half-days)*Secondary and composite:
No later than Thursday 14 December
(86 half-days)**
9.5 Public holiday: Labour Day Monday 23 October

School holidays:  From school’s closing date until opening date the next year. This includes Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day and the day after New Year’s Day

Term & Holiday Dates 2016

START DATE END DATE WEEKS HOLIDAYS
Term 1 Monday 1 February Friday 15 April 10 Public holiday: Waitangi Day Monday 8 February

Easter: Good Friday 25 March, Easter Monday 28 March, Easter Tuesday 29 March

School holidays: Saturday 16 April – Sunday 1 May and includes ANZAC day

Term 2 Monday 2 May Friday 8 July 10 Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday Monday 6 June

School holidays: Saturday 9 July – Sunday 24 July

Term 3 Monday 25 July Friday 23 September 9 School holidays: Saturday 24 September – Sunday 9 October
Term 4 Monday 10 October Friday 16 December 10.5 Public holiday: Labour Day Monday 24 October

School holidays: From school’s closing date until the opening date of school the next year. This includes Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day and the day after New Year’s Day